Crustless Coconut Pie

As easy as pie. Pleasant and nice. Yellow and white. And so, I made two of them. One for us, other to take away when visiting the in-laws the past weekend. Easter time, softly appropriate dessert. One disappeared within hours; the other… well, it only lasted longer because it was saved for the trip.

Someone even suggested me I should keep this recipe a secret. Just for us. It’s so simple to make, yet turns out so delicious. Normally, those are my favorite recipes. No need to be masked too much, the combination of few ingredients is enough to achieve this small wonder. This pie is crustless, gluten-free and relies on three basic ingredients and a little this and that. It cannot get better than that.

Easy to prepare, easy to bake, no assembly required. That left me plenty of time to enjoy a nice cup of tea in my new tea press, exactly the same I used to have in Portugal, the one the maid broke. It’s alright, these things happen once in a while and now I was able to remember how good it is to make tea with this press. I am a tea drinker, no doubt, so I knew I need to have this again, together with these double wall glasses.

Pies were made and eaten, Easter is gone, visits were done, trip is over. I am only left with my cup of warm tea. No complaints here, life is good.

Crustless Coconut Pie (Gluten-free)

Preparation time: 10 minutes
Cook time: 25 minutes
Serves 8

butter and sugar to grease the pan
1 can (14 oz) sweetened condensed milk
3/4 cup coconut flakes
5 eggs
1 tsp pure vanilla extract
powdered sugar to sprinkle on top

Pre-heat the oven to 350 F degrees. Grease a 9-inch pie pan with butter and coat it with granulated sugar. Set aside.
In a large bowl mix the condensed milk, coconut, eggs and vanilla extract, until well blended. Pour the batter into the pie pan and bake for 25 minutes. Let it cool and sprinkle with powdered sugar on top.
About thatshowiroll

Flowing life, travel and food...
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Crustless Coconut Pie

  1. Definitely see why these went quickly!

  2. Hmmm. I want to just dig in! Will try this out for dessert tomorrow night. Looks so moist.

  3. What wonderful dessert for spring. Looks delicious.

  4. chefshellina says:

    Wow- this is beautiful. I’m thinking about coconut… and cake… and I’m practically drooling. You did a great job.

  5. I am glad you didn’t keep this a secret, because it looks beautiful and delicious!

  6. I’m definitely going to make this dessert this Sunday. The recipe is very similar to my gluten-free coconut macaroons recipe. I’ll let you know how it turns out.

Leave a Reply

