Flan

Flan is definitively superb, outstanding in any table. What other dessert has this texture, this impressive shiny look, the colors and the pleasing flavor? No wonder that when my mother-in-law told me she also had a recipe for flan, my immediate reaction was: “Bring it on!”.

Besides, I would have another opportunity to test my Flan Mold, which I’m pretty sure is going to have great use in the years to come. What a wonderful purchase!

This recipe is totally different than My Mom’s Flan, and only requires three whole eggs. The lack of eggs is compensated by using sweetened condensed milk. Another difference is adding vanilla instead of lemon zest. If you tried my mother’s “Pudim” and make this one now you’ll taste the distinctness of each one, as I did. Don’t you love the variety, the novelty, the opportunity to challenge your palate?

Thank you family for introduce me to new recipes. There is certainly something I can’t never get enough. And to celebrate that I’ll have another slice. I say the recipe serves eight, but I’m not sure anymore. Probably it is way too many people for this preciousness, it would be cruel to give just one piece to each one. I would say it satisfies plenty about four. Or two. You’ll tell me if you agree.

Flan

Note: You’ll need a flan mold with locking top

Preparation time: 20 minutes

Cook time: 50-60 minutes

Serves 8

1 cup of sugar

1 can (14 0z) sweetened condensed milk

1 can (13 oz) evaporated milk

3 large eggs

1 tsp vanilla extract

Caramelize 1 cup of sugar in the flan mold at medium-heat, stirring frequently until it becomes amber color and liquid. Tilt the flan mold to make sure that both the bottom and sides are coated with the caramel. Let it cool down. As it gets hard the sugar may crack a little, that’s normal to happen and nothing to worry about. Set aside.

Preheat oven to 350F.

In a large bowl of a stand or hand mixer, whisk the eggs. Add the milks and the vanilla, whisking slowly until well blended.

Pour in the flan mold (after the sugar cools), lock the cover, and place flan mold in a large glass or ceramic baking dish. Fill the baking dish with about 2 inches of hot water.

Bake in the oven for 50 to 60 minutes in the water bath.

Take out of oven and let it cool completely. Cool in refrigerator for one hour before inverting onto a plate. The caramel will flow over the custard. Serve and enjoy!

About thatshowiroll

Flowing life, travel and food...
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Flan

  1. Flan wars with the mother-in-law? Sounds like a movie :)

  2. That looks sensational. Great pics!

  3. Beautiful flan!! Not to be messed with.

  4. Would love to see of video of it to appreciate how jiggly it is. Not too many eggs so I bet it must be super duper jiggly. Fun!

  5. I can’t remember ever eating flan, but this sounds fantastic with the sweetened condensed milk!

  6. Geoff says:

    First time reading this post but already i can tell that i am going to get fat because of it. I want me some flan! Really well done.

  7. Okay, I’m sure this is a dumb question, but why does the flan mold have to be able to be locked?

  8. sobrina says:

    omg this is making me drool!!

  9. Alma says:

    YEAH for FLAN!! :~) I had never had flan until I was introduced to it by my mother-in-law 29 years ago! Her recipe was similar but uses only evaporated milk, not sweetened condensed. We had 2 friends visiting us from Argentina over Thanksgiving last fall and one of them absolutely could not eat cinnamon, so instead of my incredible Pumpkin Cheesecake I made a Pumpkin Flan recipe that did not call for cinnamon and we all loved it!
    Your recipe sounds wonderful and I will be trying it very soon!

  10. mintyboy says:

    I remember eating flan all the time as a kid. Traditionally, flan was eaten with a bit of espresso (or even coffee, both do not need to be hot) and crushed ice in Vietnam. It works quite well since the bitter coffee helps offset most of the sweetness of the flan itself. Hope you try it out, it doesnt require much.

  11. Susan says:

    Im so doing this. This recipe is easier than mine. Thanks for posting!

  12. sweet road says:

    Mmm I remember the first time I had flan I must have been about 8 years old and the power went out because of a mid summer storm. We ate dinner and flan at a family member’s house who lived on the water by candlelight and it was so delicious! I have had it maybe once since then and have never attempted to make it… I think it’s time I try to recreate the memory!

  13. James Schaefer says:

    I’d never heard of a flan pan with lid. In research I can across two sizes, 1 quart and 1.5 quart. What size pan meets your recipe? All links to buying pans take me to Amazon who is out of stock. Any suggestions on suppliers?
    Thanks, James

    • I have the 1.5 quart mold, which was what I used for this recipe. Amazon just got out of stock, but you might want to check once in a while, because they can have more on the way soon, it happened before. Unfortunately I don’t have any other suggestion for you, this was the only place I was able to find mine as well. Thank you.

  14. Christy says:

    Tried making it last night followed your steps but seems that it did not harden at all its all liquid still. Not sure where the disconnect is. Any suggestions?

    • Wow, liquid? I don’t know how that happened. It was the right temperature? The mold was covered? Did you make the water bath? Should not be liquid at all. It’s liquid before baking, then right out of the oven can be a little jiggle in the middle, but after cool down and refrigerated should be firm. I hope you’ll try again with success. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

