My Mom’s Flan (Pudim)

“I’ve been wanting to try to do your flan” I said to my mother other day. “Would you give me your recipe?” “Of course”, she said and promptly instruct me “You would need…” By then I had to have a pen in my hand and start taking notes. It’s all in her memory. She never needs any paper or books for any kind of recipe. All the ingredients and directions pop in her head as she talks.

I more or less knew this recipe by memory as well, for all the times I watched her making the flan. Yet I couldn’t remember the measures and exactly each one of the ingredients. Besides, I had never tried to make it myself until this day. So, I wanted to follow her instructions religiously, as I knew she had never failed with this dessert.

It was somehow difficult to find a flan mold with locking top and I only came across this one online. I searched for one with a hole in the middle, similar to the old one my mom has, but no luck. Nevertheless, my flan mold arrived and I was able to finally reproduce the recipe. Oh, I couldn’t wait any longer.

The result is what you see in the pictures. I was very proud to show it to my mom: exactly like hers, taste and everything. There was only one problem with it – it disappeared within a few hours.

My Mom’s Flan (Pudim)

(You need a flan mold with locking top)

Preparation time: 20 minutes

Cook time: 45 minutes

Serves 8

11 egg yolks

1 1/2 cup (300 g) sugar

1 tbsp corn starch

1 whole egg

2 cups (500 ml) milk

1 tbsp lemon zest (organic)

3 oz (about 100 ml) Porto wine (optional)

1/2 cup of sugar for caramel

In the flan mold put enough sugar to cover the bottom (more or less 1/2 cup). No water is needed! Place the mold directly on the stove over low-heat swirling pan occasionally (no stirring) until sugar melts and turns deep amber. Out of stove, swirl the caramel until it coats bottom and sides of pan. Set aside (the caramel will harden and crack a little, as it gets cold, no worries).

In a large bowl, whisk the egg yolks with sugar until creamy. Mix in the whole egg, the milk, the lemon zest and one tablespoon of corn starch. Add the Porto wine (optional). Pour the mixture in the flan mold and cover with the locking top. Put the flan mold inside a big pan with water until halfway up side of the flan mold. Cover the pan, bring the water to a boil in the stove over high-heat. Reduce to low-heat and let it cook for 45 minutes. Remove flan mold from the pan and let it cool completely (best if chilled until cold) before turning over carefully onto plate. Allow the caramel to run over flan and serve.

About thatshowiroll

Flowing life, travel and food...
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to My Mom’s Flan (Pudim)

  1. That looks absolutely wonderful!! Thanks Mrs. Mom.

  2. lynne says:

    Yum! I love flan! This looks amazing :)

  3. croney1 says:

    This looks delicious! I was wondering about the sugar measurement. Does the 1 1/2 cups of sugar include the amount for caramelizing in the mold or does the recipe require additional sugar for that?

  4. Mika says:

    This seems wonderful! I really like the use of port wine here…I love port wine, it is so flavourfull and it matches very well with lemon zests…

  5. Greg says:

    That does look delicious. It must be really rich with all of those egg yolks! Thanks so much for sharing your Mom’s recipe.

  6. Beautiful! I love the color contrast between the dark caramel and the creamy golden flan.

Leave a Reply

