Stracciatella and Lemon Ice-cream

I love lemons. At our old house, we had a Meyer lemon tree and those were the best lemons I have ever tasted. They were big, round, juicy lemons and I used to pick one each morning from the back yard for my breakfast. They almost looked like yellow oranges, I wish we could have brought the tree here when we moved. But maybe it wouldn’t be a good idea to bring a big tree to the beach.

The other day I had an idea for ice-cream. Lemon-flavored with little pieces of lemon zest. I didn’t want the sorbet kind, made with water, though it’s a healthier option. No, I wanted a super creamy luscious lemon ice-cream.

And that was why I added another favorite ingredient of mine: condensed milk. I have this personal theory that anything made with condensed milk turns out delicious.  So far, so good. On the other hand, I didn’t want to use eggs and condensed milk ended to be a great substitute for eggs. Truth being told, I’m not a crazy fan of eggs but I’m okay with eating it disguised in cakes or other desserts. Just not on my lemon ice-cream this time.

I liked so much the result that I almost ate the whole ice-cream myself. Selfish, huh? So, to redeem myself, yesterday I did another one, and I added an extra flavor I was thinking about for days. I wanted a stracciatella ice-cream! Although, I know the stracciatella has a vanilla base and it’s awesome like that, I did it with the lemon ice-cream base.

I’m already thinking about other possibilities: orange zest, strawberries, caramel, caramelized nuts, I want it all. Still, I’m enjoying a few more scoops of this Stracciatella Lemon Ice-cream. So worth it!

Stracciatella and Lemon Ice-cream

Preparation time: 15 minutes (plus at least 4 hours in the freezer)

Serves 4-6

1 pint heavy whipping cream

1 can  (14 oz) sweet condensed milk

1/2 cup lemon juice (about 1 lemon)

1 tbsp lemon zest (I recommend organic lemon)

For the Stracciatella variation:

2 oz of semi-sweet chocolate, chopped

Mix the condensed milk with the juice and the lemon zest. Set aside. With an electric mixer, whisk the heavy whipping cream, slowly increasing the speed to high until forming soft peaks (you can put the mixing bowl and whisking attachment in the freezer for about 20 minutes before whisking for better results). Add the condensed milk and juice to the cream and whisk on low speed just until combined. For the Stracciatella variation, add the chopped chocolate at this stage. Pour the ice-cream in a recipient with lid and put in the freezer for at least four hours.

About thatshowiroll

Flowing life, travel and food...
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Stracciatella and Lemon Ice-cream

  1. So lucky to have had your own tree. THIS is amazing!!! Calling my name!

  2. This looks absolutely divine. I am always eyeing the Meyer lemons which they started carrying at my supermarket recently, but never quite know what I would do with them. This looks amazing.
    Rivki @ Healthy Eating for Ordinary People

  3. I agree with you on the sweetened condensed milk. I use it a lot in ice cream. Never had lemon ice cream, sounds sooo good!

  4. That looks amazing and I am with you. Lemon all the way baby!

  5. Marlis says:

    I have been looking for this since 1984! Honestly! Thanks so much. I grew up in Germany and we had a lot of good real Italian pizzerias and gelato stores nearby. Once I left Germany no one even knew the name Stracciatella! Thanks so much.

  6. oh wow this looks so good! I can’t wait to try it. Definitely a stumble from me :)

  7. This looks delicious! I’ve made something similar without the lemon, but now I think I need to try it your way.

  8. Pingback: Stracciatella and Lemon Ice-cream (via WordFlux) « "Born again still your angel"

Leave a Reply

