Chickpea Curry on Coconut Basmati Rice

I was doing some research other day because I wanted to make my own curry mix and this captured my attention:  “The Portuguese importation of the chilli pepper from Brazil and their mixing of other Asian spices enabled the development of ‘curi’. The Indian curry dish ‘Vindaloo’, from Goa, is a contraction of the Portuguese for ‘Garlic Wine’, or ‘Vinho de alho’. ” Curious, Vinha D’Alhos is traditionally a meat marinade made with red wine, vinegar, garlic, bay leaves and salt.  Variations can include red chili peppers, but at our house was not commonly used. All ingredients were combined and put in a large covered bowl together with the meat, then refrigerated up to two days. Meat prepared like that tastes divine, especially when is roasted.

It’s always interesting to learn more about the influence the Portuguese have had on the world’s culture and notably in the culture of food. When Vasco da Gama found his way to India and established there an empire, a myriad of new flavors were introduced in the Indian cuisine. Chili, tomato, potato, sweet potato, cashew nut, yeast, vinegar and refined sugar. How fantastic must have been to go around the world and trade flavors and cultural differences like that.

The curry or caril, as we call it, is a mix of spices and the basics are saffron, cardamom, coriander, ginger, cumin, nutmeg, red pepper, clove and cinnamon. Besides these, others can be added, accordingly to the preferences, like fenugreek, fennel seed, allspice, rosemary, capsicum, cayenne pepper or bay leaves. Some curry can have up to 70 different spices.

My recipe today is chickpea curry with coconut basmati rice. And I tell you the house is impregnated with these flavors. I’m delighted with all the warmth aromatic colors, the pleasant taste of this blend of ingredients.

I used a mixture of turmeric (is not as common to find saffron in the stores as it is in Portugal, so I substituted it by turmeric), ginger, cumin, clove, nutmeg, fennel seed, cardamom, coriander and cayenne pepper. I also added a cinnamon stick directly in the pan instead of using powder. But the regular curry powder would have worked fine as well. And of course, the coconut rice is a winning combination of flavor and contrasting colors.

Chickpea Curry on Coconut Basmati Rice

Chickpea Curry recipe

Preparation time: 10 minutes

Cook time: 2 hours and 30 minutes

Serves 4-6

14 oz dry chickpeas

2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil

1 sweet onion, chopped

6 cloves of garlic, chopped

2 large tomatoes, chopped

1 tbsp curry powder

1 cinnamon stick

1 tsp salt

1 lemon to cut in wedges and drizzle on top

chopped cilantro for serving (optional)

Soak chickpeas in water overnight. Cook the chickpeas in a large pan with enough water to cover them for 2 hours.

In a large skillet add the chopped onion, tomatoes and garlic with the olive oil and cook in medium-heat around 10 minutes, stirring occasionally. Add the curry mixture, salt, 1 cinnamon stick, the drained cooked chickpeas and 2 cups of water (I used the water from cooking the chickpeas). Bring to a boil, reduce to medium-heat, cover and cook 20 minutes until sauce is slightly reduced. Serve on top of coconut basmati rice with some lemon drizzled. Decorate with chopped cilantro and lemon wedges if desired.

For the Coconut Basmati Rice, see my recipe here and just substitute jasmine by basmati rice.

About thatshowiroll

Flowing life, travel and food...
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Chickpea Curry on Coconut Basmati Rice

  1. I love the history lesson. It makes your recipes fun. This one looks great. I love chick peas and basamiti rice so the two together would could be more perfect.

  2. Kankana says:

    This is such a great dish :) Never tried it with coconut rice though

  3. Perfect. Love turmeric and trying to use less meat and more beans, so this one is definitely going on the list!

  4. Erin says:

    my husband has been asking me to make a dish like this but I didn’t have a recipe so I’m glad to have found this!!! I’ll definitely be trying it out!

  5. Sandra says:

    Looks wonderfully tasty! Love your the photos!

  6. I just came across your blog on foodgawker and it looks wonderful! I look forward to seeing more beautiful and delicious looking posts!
    I love chickpeas. They are so versatile and easy to work with. And lately I have been experimenting with Indian spices. This looks right up my alley. I have clipped the recipe and look forward to trying it. Thank you!

  7. Medeja says:

    I love chickpea curries :) it’s one of my husbands favourite dishes so we make it from time to time. Your pictures look great

  8. Jill Colonna says:

    My goodness this looks good. My kids ADORE chickpeas and it makes a lovely change to sticking them in couscous. Thanks for the inspiration!

  9. I love that curry … all those flavors … beautiful! This would make a fantastic lunch!

  10. Cakewhiz says:

    I tried making chicpea curry once and it didn’t turn out to my liking so i got scared to try it again. But, your curry looks so savory that i am onboard to try it again. I am sure it tasted divine with coconut rice :)

  11. Pingback: Tweets that mention Chickpea Curry on Coconut Basmati Rice | WordFlux -- Topsy.com

  12. theveggie says:

    this dish looks great. great tip on the vindaloo. i had no idea. such wonderful information here, thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

