Non Toxic Nail Polish

I stopped polishing my nails when I got pregnant.

Knowing how harmful those beautiful glasses of rainbow colors are, my concerns multiplied infinitely because of the little human-being I was developing inside of me. I was and still am responsible for this baby healthy development, especially when it was an indefensible embryo.

All conventional nail polishes contain substances like formaldehyde, toulene, and dibutyl-pthalate (DBP), known to be carcinogen and linked to underdeveloped genitals and other long-term fertility problems in newborn boys.

Anyway, those were enough reasons to avoid these toxic chemicals forever! Almost resigned to a life without any color in my nails, I was happily surprised to hear about some brands making non toxic nail polish.

Wait a minute? That means I can polish my nails again? I mean, my baby was born sometime ago, but I am more committed to use safe products than ever.

With this in mind, I did some search and I found a few brands that seems to be trusted sources of safe nail products. Here are some of those:

Safe Nail Polish – a water based formula suitable for adults, children and pets! 22 colors with funny names like ‘skies the limit’, ‘kotton kandy’ or ‘ocean sand’.

Acquarella – 24 colors plus remover, conditioner and acessories. Pretty but a little pricey, compared to the others.

Polished Mama – 12 vibrant colors designed to be safe during pregnancy and beyond.  They offer a french manicure kit and another pedicure kit.

Piggy Paint – This sounds the best option for kids. Even the website is designed targeting kids and the colors are so bright with options like ‘project earth: lol’ or ‘mac-n-cheese please’. Available gift sets are perfect for birthday parties.

Zoya – This one is difficult to choose from because they offer over 300 colors, plus 4 seasonal collections! Fortunately, the website includes a color finder to make it easy to look for specific color and/or finish.

And this last weekend I received my supply from Zoya. Yay! First option was the Perrie color.

Well, actually I was expecting it to be more lilac than lavender, but I still like the final result. What you think?

Disclaimer: None of these brands are advertising on my blog, They’re mentioned here by my one and only personal choice.

 

About thatshowiroll

Flowing life, travel and food...
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

