Creamy Veggie Rice with Sausages

This is a quickie meal that can be made in 15 minutes. If you thought I was going to start this Food page with an extremely elaborate gourmet meal, I’m sorry to disappoint you. But, you know, many times the simplest things turned out to be the tastiest ones. This was the case when I was looking into the fridge thinking about what I could grab to cook lunch. And so, I decided to finish that jar of basmati rice that I found placed at the fridge door. The rest is history, how fast it went!
On a side note, I want to say that I don’t use to make fried rice or add any kind of grease (like butter or oil) during cooking – sorry to disappoint you again. I only add (and always) extra virgin olive oil at the end.
Saying this, you won’t be surprise anymore if I tell you the first thing I do is put a pan in the stove with some water to boil. In the meantime, I cut and chop an onion and a few cloves of garlic (I use it a lot in everything) and throw in the pan together with the seasonings – salt, oregano, parsley and turmeric – this yellow Indian Saffron gives a distinct flavor and color to the rice and is known for its anti-inflammatory proprieties that help treat digestive disorders and it’s also being investigated for benefits in others clinical pathologies. And hey, it looks good and especially tastes good, so I like it!

While I’m saying all this, I washed and cut a bunch of asparagus and together with the pre-washed rice I added to the boiling water. You are free to use any and as many other veggies you want, today I just want asparagus.
The basmati rice needs some attention, if you just throw it in the pan and leave it to cook by itself, it probably start to stick to the bottom very easily. I don’t like to cook it in a lot of water, to keep it a little crispy, so the water should only be covering the rice. If it needs you can still add some water but this rice cooks fast.

Since this is going to be the main meal, I want to add some protein to it. I pick up this vegetarian sausages, but any kind can be accepted.

I like those because it has sun-dried tomatoes and are somehow spicy, which increases the rice flavor.

Here is what the rice looks like so far. It’s almost done!

I cut the sausages into more or less thin slices like this:

And throw them all in the pan. Yum yum.

And now it comes the creamy quintessence of this rice, its epitome, the ultimate plus. Are you ready?

Oh yes, nothing else than heavy cream. Delicious!

At this time, you can remove from heat and just let the warm pan do the job with the cream and sausages.

Smells really good. Now add the olive oil just for the kicks.

Et voila, enjoy!

Recipe:

Creamy Veggie Rice with Sausages

Cook time: 15 minutes

1 onion

Garlic (as pleased)

Basmati rice (2 cups serves 4 people)

Bunch of asparagus

Vegetarian sausages cutted into slices

1 cup of heavy cream (0r more if you feel like it)

Seasonings (salt, turmeric, oregano, parsley)

Extra virgin olive oil

Bring 3 cups water into a boil in a pan, add the onion and garlic, both chopped, the seasonings (salt, pepper, turmeric, oregano), the rice (washed in 3 waters) and asparagus cut in small pieces. Let it cook for around 10 – 12 minutes stirring frequently. Add the heavy cream and sausages (sliced) and remove from heat, allowing 2 more minutes to mix the flavors. Pour some olive oil and serve warm with a side salad.

About thatshowiroll

Flowing life, travel and food...
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Creamy Veggie Rice with Sausages

Leave a Reply

